Columbia Valley AVA

The Columbia Valley AVA lies in the Columbia River Plateau, through much of central and southern Washington State, with a small section crossing into the neighboring state of Oregon.

Nine smaller AVAs designate unique growing areas of special distinction within the larger Columbia Valley AVA. These are the Ancient Lakes AVA, Yakima Valley AVA, the Red Mountain AVA, the Walla Walla Valley AVA, the Horse Heaven Hills AVA, the Rattlesnake Hills AVA, Lake Chelan AVA, Snipes Mountain AVA and the Wahluke Slope AVA. North of the Rattlesnake Hills is a region commonly known as Columbia Cascade, but which is not officially recognized as an American Viticultural Area. Other wine growing regions of distinction that have not yet been granted AVA status include the Othello region located in Adams County and the Tri-Cities area around the towns of Richland, Pasco, and Kennewick.

Grapes grown here include Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Chardonnay, Riesling, Syrah, Pinot gris, and Sauvignon blanc. Concord grapes and other Vitis labrusca grapes are grown in the region as well.

See Columbia Valley Wine for more information.